My Top 5 Nutrition Podcasts!

I think it’s only fitting to start my first blog post discussing where the journey began. In January of 2016, I got the flu while traveling to Portland. It was awful, I was sick for more than three weeks. Just as I was starting to feel better, our family planned a trip to Colorado to visit extended family. On the last day of the trip, I ended up getting another strain of the flu and found my way to the emergency room. I was sick off and on over the span of three months. Also, my heartburn was becoming unbearable. I was taking a minimum of two prescription antacid medications each day and would have to sleep sitting up to prevent from choking in the middle of the night. In addition, I began to have circulation issues in my thigh, where I would experience intense heat and numbness in my thigh every evening. My doctor said it might be a pinched nerve, but didn’t offer any solutions. I had just turned 40 a few months earlier and I didn’t want this mess to be my life. I was literally sick and tired of being sick and tired! I was at the end of my rope. Desperate to find answers and solutions that weren’t centered around taking prescription medication. I wanted to get to the root of the problem!

I knew that this was going to take research and time to focus on trying to get healthy. But, how was I going to find the time to fit this into an already busy schedule. The most convenient way for me to make this happen as someone who commuted three to four hours a day, would be for me to learn by listening to a health and wellness podcast as I commuted to and from work.  Anyone that knows me, knows that I’m bit of a podcast fanatic. I love a good criminal justice or entrepreneurial podcast. But, I hadn’t ventured over to the health and wellness podcasts yet. One day I googled “the best health and wellness podcasts” and stumbled upon the #1 podcast on my list. This podcast is still my favorite. I love their practical solutions. I listened to the episode called, The Thyroid Gluten ConnectionIt was in this episode where I heard for the first time that people suffering from thyroid conditions could be sensitive to gluten and sugar. As someone diagnosed with hypothyroidism , the nutritionists/dietitians on this podcast suggested abstaining from these items to help get symptoms under control. They suggested that fatigue, headaches, depression, heartburn, aches and pains, could be solved by simply giving up these two things. As I mentioned before, I was desperate to find answers, so I decided that I had nothing to lose, but so much to gain if this actually worked. Long story short – it worked! I started to feel 1000% better. I continued to listen to more of their podcasts and incorporated more of their suggestions about eating whole foods. Not only did I start to feel better, but I started to lose 2-3 pounds a week. Listening to this podcast was such a great way to keep me on track and felt like a pep talk each day! I have listened to many different health and wellness podcasts over the last year and here are my top 5 suggestions. I hope they are helpful to you as well. Please feel free to suggest your favorites in the comment sections below!

1. Dishing Up Nutrition by Nutritional Weight and Wellness

2. 40+ Fitness Podcast

3. Breaking Down Nutrition

4. The Paleo Solution

5. Bulletproof Radio

Leave a Reply

