The Journey to Health & Wellness from my child’s point of view.

My husband sat down with our youngest son Isaiah for an interview, to get a better understanding about his point of view in our journey to wellness.

Here is what our 14 year-old had to say! I hope it’s helpful and encouraging to families out there. We’d love to hear your stories too! Please feel free to share your story by emailing us @ gingersemail@gmail.com.

Question: What made you want to change your eating habits?

Isaiah: I saw my mom doing it and asked if I could do it with her.

Question: How did you feel physically and emotionally before you changed your eating habits?

Isaiah: I couldn’t do a lot of the physical activities my peers were able to do. Like: run the mile, push-ups, sit-ups, and pull-ups. I constantly felt bad about myself, I thought I was fat and felt really insecure. I was always the quiet one because I didn’t want to bring attention to myself.

Question: How do you feel now?

Isaiah: I never get sick anymore, and I have more energy. I can do all the physical activities I wasn’t able to do before. I’m definitely a lot more confident and not as shy as I used to be.

Question: Was it hard to give up certain foods? If so, has it gotten easier over time?

Isaiah: It was hard to give up sugary drinks, but I was so motivated to keep going because I saw results almost instantly in the way I felt and on the scale. Once I saw the results, I just kept going until it became a regular routine.

Question: Do your eating habits affect your relationships at school? What are your biggest challenges at school in regards to your eating habits?

Isaiah: I have people at school that make smart remarks about what I eat and what I refrain from eating, but at the same time they also acknowledge my commitment and ability to say no to certain foods. The biggest challenge is being offered candy sometimes, but most people know that I don’t eat candy and don’t offer.

Question: If you could say anything to your peers about their eating habits, what would it be?

Isaiah: Convince your parents to eat better, so that you can eat better. But, it would be weird for the child to be the one to tell their parent what to eat. My friends usually blame their parents for the way they eat and say they don’t have any control of what their parents feed them or make them for lunch.

Question: Do you think you will carry on these healthy habits forever?

Isaiah: Yes, because it’s just a part of me now. Even when I go to college, I’m going to have to try to figure out how I can choose healthy options.

Question: What were some changes that you saw, but didn’t expect?

Isaiah: I didn’t expect that my confidence would change. Also, I have more energy and I improved my mile time from a 10 minute mile to 6:56. I’m also a better student and my grades have improved as well.

Question: What’s your favorite thing to eat?

Isaiah: Sushi or Koobideh with humus and Tzatziki.

Question: What would you tell parents out there that are reading this?

Isaiah: Parents are a child’s best motivator and encouragement. Try to set a good example for your kids.

Well there you have it – a 14 year-old’s point of view. This site is about our collective and individual journey’s and I think it’s important we hear from a child’s perspective.

But to be honest, when I started this quest for health and wellness last June, it was truly a selfish decision. I knew that I had to make a change to get healthy because I was truly sick and tired of being sick and tired. Initially, I would make two different meals. One that I could eat and one that I thought my kids wanted. I didn’t want to force my eating habits on my kids, but I quickly found out that my 13 year-old was sick and tired of being sick and tired too. He was the one that asked me if he could participate in this process. It was at that moment, the light bulb went off. I was doing a disservice to my children all of these years. If the food I was consuming was making me feel so horrible, why would I want to feed my children that food? I really don’t know why it took so long for it to click, but I’m sure glad that it finally did.

I’m also glad that we’re all in this journey together. I’m hoping to share my older son’s perspective as well. Stay tuned 🙂

Thanks for reading and I hope that you will find encouragement in Isaiah’s words.

Please feel free to share your story by emailing us @ gingersemail@gmail.com.

We only have one life, let’s make it count! Here’s to living health and thriving.

Peace & Love,

Gingerleeplus3

2 thoughts on “The Journey to Health & Wellness from my child’s point of view.

  1. Barbara Brown says:

    Awesome. I have been wanting to change my eating habits also but it feels like it’s a lot of work so I get overwhelmed and don’t know how to start the process. Thank you for sharing your journey !!

    Like

    • gingerleeplus3 says:

      Hi Barbara!
      That’s exactly why we created this site, because in the beginning it does seem so overwhelming… but, it doesn’t have to be. Our hope is to provide support and to share the resources that we have found from the hours upon hours of reading and listening to what nutritional experts are saying and to encourage others on this journey as well. I hope that you find some of the posts helpful and later this week I’ll be posting a list of foods by category of what we eat and don’t eat. Of course, meal plans should be tweaked to a person’s specific needs and I’m not a health professional. It’s just a baseline to get started and I would recommend sitting down with a nutritionist to see if you might have any food sensitivities. The way I started was putting together a meal plan for the week and prepped meals in advance. I also wrote down everything I ate. Keep healthy snacks on hand. Lastly, I listened to a short nutrition podcast every morning which served as my daily “pep talk”. See my post regarding podcasts. I think you will like #1
      Let us know how we can support you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

